On the Trail of the Ultimate Hash Brown

 

“A truly good hash brown is really crispy on the outside and has a strong oniony taste.” So said BS Travel Guide culinary expert Jemima Thomas.

Little did she know that would be the touch paper for an epic 12-month journey to find the world’s tastiest hash brown. Jemima’s documentary I Made a Total Hash of That will appear on BSTG TV next week. But here’s a quick snippet from the script.

 

Mike, the cook on the boat asked me why I was travelling to Patagonia.

Jemima: Hash browns.

Mike: WTF? (Ed: Please remember to bleep this out).

Jemima: Yup. I am on a mission from God. Well not God but BS Travel Guide.

Mike: Get outta here.

Jemima: What? You really want me to leave?

LAUGHTER

Mike: Just wait a moment little lady. Where I come from – California, Missouri, we make the best hash browns on God’s earth.

Jemima: Prove it.

Mike then started to work on the tiny workspace and stove-top burner that makes for the kitchen, from where he feeds the rest of the crew.

He hand grates the potatoes and onions and throws on a couple of eggs and some baking powder.

Walnut oil into the frying pan – about a quarter of an inch deep. Into that he tosses a healthy amount of fresh-cracked pepper and sea salt. Once the oil turns a dark brown he dips the spoon-shaped hash browns in a flour and water batter and then drops them into the pan.

Fifteen minutes later and I am in heaven.

Mike: And that’s on a boat. Imagine what they taste like in my mom’s joint back in California.

 

Momma’s Place is on E Buchanan Street in California and is open 24/7. Aside from hash browns, she does a mean pork sausage and wicked treacle grits.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jerilyn says:

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the
    following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case
    you shield this increase. http://electronicwaste.zenzelerecycling.co.za/index.php/component/k2/author/9018

    Like

  2. I love hash browns, now you’ve got me craving them!

    Like

  3. Kristi says:

    hello!,I love your writing so much! share we keep up a correspondence more about your
    post on AOL? I need an expert in this space to solve my problem.
    May be that is you! Looking ahead to peer you. http://www.southernautomation.in/component/easyblog/blogger/listings/lamartheodor89?Itemid=101

    Like

  4. Frank says:

    I’ll right away seize your rss feed as I can not find
    your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any?
    Kindly permit me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks. http://www.yahoo.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

